The FIFA President responds to the crowd's attack on the Lyon bus The FIFA President responds to the crowd's attack on the Lyon bus

The FIFA President responds to the crowd's attack on the Lyon bus

The FIFA President responds to the crowd's attack on the Lyon bus

FIFA President Gianni Infantino condemned the attack by Marseille fans on a Lyon bus on Sunday evening, on its way to the stadium.
Infantino wrote on his official Instagram account: “There is absolutely no place for violence in football, whether on or off the field.”

He continued: "Such events that occurred in Marseille have no place in our sport and our society."

The FIFA President called on the competent authorities to ensure that appropriate measures are taken, and stressed that everyone in football, without exception, must be safe.

The bus carrying the Lyon team was attacked with stones on its way to the Velodrome stadium to face its host Marseille, which led to coach Grosso being injured in the face above his left eye and his assistant Rafael Luongo.

It was decided to postpone the match between the two teams in the French League, which was scheduled for October 29, and Marseille criticized the behavior of the club’s fans.

Tonight everything you need to know about the Ballon d'Or 2023 ceremony.

Today, Monday, football fans around the world are anticipating the annual Ballon d'Or ceremony to distribute the best awards in the world, organized by "France Football" magazine.
The ceremony is scheduled to begin at 10 pm Mecca time.

BeIN Sports will broadcast the ceremony live on its open news channel and Abu Dhabi Sports Channel 1.

The France Football ceremony will not be limited to the Ballon d'Or, which is awarded to the best player in the world, but will also present other awards.
These awards are: Golden Ball for Best Player and Best Player, Club of the Year (Men/Women), Copa Award (Best Rookie), Yashin Award (Best Goalkeeper).

The winner of the Gerd Müller Award will also be announced, which is awarded to the player with the highest number of goals for his club and country in official matches only over the course of an entire football season, in addition to the Socrates Award, which is awarded to players who have significantly contributed to charitable work and community service in the world.

Voting on the awards:

The Men’s Ballon d’Or. A group of journalists around the world participated in voting for it. Each journalist represents his country from among the first 100 countries ranked by the International Federation of Association Football (FIFA), and they are the same voters who voted for the Yashin Award.

The same applies to the Women's Ballon d'Or, but journalists from the top 50 countries in the FIFA rankings participate in it.

As for the Cuban Award for Best Young Player, all Ballon d'Or winners throughout history participate in voting.

Criteria for winning the Ballon d'Or:

France Football decided to reveal different criteria this year, which it announced after the end of voting.

She stated that the evaluation is based on 3 items, the first of which is the player’s individual performance, contributions and behavior on the field, and the second is his influential role in winning his team titles.

The third clause in the specified standards also stipulates that the player must practice fair play and behave in a sophisticated manner on the field.

Candidates for the Ballon d'Or:

A huge number of great players are competing for the 2023 award, led by Norwegian Erling Haaland, Lionel Messi and Kylian Mbappe.

It is expected that the competition will be limited to the trio, amid leaks indicating that Messi has already won the award for the eighth time in his career.

Thus, Haaland will not be crowned with the award despite his remarkable distinction on the individual and team levels with Manchester City throughout last season, in addition to his topping the list of scorers in various European leagues and championships.

Max Verstappen scores his 16th win of the season at the Mexican GP

Jakarta - World champion Max Verstappen recorded his 16th victory this season at the Mexican Grand Prix, on Sunday local or Monday morning WIB.

The racer from the Netherlands led the race from start to finish. He successfully took pole position from pole position rider Charles Leclerc, who finished in third position.

This victory also became a historical mark, because Red Bull racer Verstappen became the first racer to win 16 races in one season, as quoted on the official Formula 1 website.

Verstappen also equaled the achievement of legendary French racer Alain Prost with 51 wins throughout his career, thanks to his fifth victory. of six editions of the Mexican race at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez.

Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton finished in second place, with the fastest lap record. Meanwhile, Ferrari driver Charles Leclerc finished in third position.

Verstappen's teammate, Sergio Perez, did not continue the race after colliding with Leclerc as he tried to overtake heading into the first corner.

Perez's exit means he is only 20 points ahead of Hamilton in the battle for second place. This has now become a priority for Red Bull, which has never finished a season in first or second place.

Ferrari driver Carlos Sainz finished in fourth position, while Lando Norris who defended McLaren finished in fifth position after starting the race from 17th position.

George Russell finished sixth for Mercedes, Australian Daniel Ricciardo recorded his first points for Alpha Tauri in seventh, and compatriot Oscar Piastri was eighth for McLaren.

Alex Albon for Williams finished in ninth position, and Alpine driver Esteban Ocon in tenth position.

The race was stopped for track cleaning after 34 laps out of a total of 71 laps, when Haas driver Magnussen collided allegedly due to failure of the right rear suspension.

The Danish racer got out of the car and sat on the edge of the track, when the back of his car burst into flames and the safety car had to be removed before the red flag was raised.

The race continued from the restart position, with Verstappen leading from pole and Leclerc in second place. Both drivers used hard tires, but Hamilton, who was right behind them, used medium tires.

Verstappen took advantage of the safety car's presence as an opportunity to make a second pitstop, while Leclerc entered the pit before Magnussen's accident.
Previous Post Next Post