Windows 11 is one of the most widely used operating systems in the world, with about one billion users, or 68% of all computer users in the world, relying on it, according to StatCounterGlobal statistics.
A large portion of users around the world treat Windows 11 computers as a safe place to store photos specifically and as an alternative to cloud storage, so you find them emptying their phones of photos to put them inside their computers.
However the system retains a copy of the images, even if they are completely deleted from storage units, a copy that hackers, cybersecurity experts, and even artificial intelligence agents can easily access.
The reason Windows retains this version is due to the image display mechanism and the overall system optimization implemented by Microsoft in recent years. Instead of reloading thumbnails in the file browser, the system saves thumbnails in advance, so that you can find thumbnails ready to view at any time within the browser.
Although this feature is not exclusive to Windows systems, according to the report, its danger comes from the size of the system's users and customer base, as well as the ease of access to its system files, and thus access to saved copies of thumbnails
Fortunately, there is an easy way to remove the stored thumbnails. Microsoft also allows you to completely disable the feature from within the system settings, and you can delete them by following these steps.
Delete stored images in "Windows 11"
The deletion mechanism relies directly on accessing the location where the images were stored and then deleting them, according to a report by the "MakeUseOf" website.
You can do this easily by following these steps:
Microsoft provides an easy mechanism to prevent thumbnails from being stored on the hard drive for those who wish to do so, but this requires completely disabling thumbnail display from the system.
Tags:
technology
